War in Ukraine: G7 countries impose new sanctions on Russia – Politics

The most powerful states in the Western world are once again toughening the sanctions package against the Kremlin!

The G7 countries have agreed, among other things, to phase out Agreement on Russian oil imports. “The G7 as a whole made a commitment today to ban or phase out imports of Russian oil,” the White House said on Sunday after a video conference of G7 leaders. Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy also took part in the deliberations. The United States itself has already imposed an import ban.

The group of seven major democratic industrial nations includes the NATO states, the United States, Canada, France, Britain, Italy and Germany as well as Japan.

In Brussels, EU countries are also negotiating an oil embargo against Russia and other punitive measures. Recently, there was still a dispute over exceptions to the import ban for countries like Hungary, the Czech Republic, Slovakia and Bulgaria. Discussions on this are expected to continue next week.

A US official also announced a ban on providing services to businesses or individuals in Russia. Services in the fields of accounting, management, consulting or marketing are concerned.

The United States would also impose sanctions on three of the main television stations controlled directly or indirectly by the government of President Vladimir Putin: Pervy Kanal. Rossiya-1 and NTV. US advertising orders should not be placed with these “Kremlin mouthpieces”, nor should US technology be provided for broadcast.

The US official said the United States would further tighten export controls to weaken Russia’s war effort. Wood products, industrial engines and clearing vehicles are affected. In addition, sanctions would be imposed on the leaders of the largest and third largest Russian banks, Sberbank and Gazprombank. “The message is that if Putin’s invasion continues, there will be no safe haven for the Russian economy,” the spokesperson said.

Due to the Russian aggression war, Western countries have already imposed severe sanctions on Russia. Germany currently holds the G7 presidency and is hosting the group’s next summit in Bavaria at the end of June.

Leave a Comment